DTES Not for Developers Coalition starts survey and discussion series about cycles of displacement

DTES Not for Developers Coalition starts survey and discussion series about cycles of displacement

Ivan Drury

CCAP is part of the DTES Not for Developers Coalition which has been organizing for over a year and a half against condo developments at Pantages theatre, in Chinatown and, recently, at 955 E Hastings. The coalition has started a survey and discussion series about the threat that underlies all these condo development projects: displacement; in its Downtown Eastside form of gentrification.

The purpose of the survey is to better understand what living in the DTES and the threat of displacement means for residents.

Some surveys the coalition has collected so far say:

  • I came to the DTES because of the stigma against me for being HIV+ in the area I came from. I couldn’t get good health care there.
  • My experiences in the DTES have shown me one heart, one desire for justice, and our need to unite and find one strength.
  • Gentrification means we are getting herded out of our neighbourhood like cattle,
  • If I had to leave I would miss the brotherhood, the compassion and empathy.

And when asked where they would choose to live, a group of 50 at VANDU said, nearly in unison: the Downtown Eastside!